Brexit is the popular term for the prospective withdrawal of the United Kingdom (UK) from the European Union (EU).

In a referendum on 23 June 2016, 51.9% of the participating UK electorate (the turnout was 72.2% of the electorate) voted to leave the EU. On 29 March 2017, the British government invoked Article 50 of the Treaty on the European Union. The UK is thus on course to leave the EU on 29 March 2019.

Prime Minister Theresa May announced that the UK would not seek permanent membership of the single market or the customs union after leaving the EU and promised to repeal the European Communities Act of 1972 and incorporate existing European Union law into UK domestic law. A new government department, the Department for Exiting the European Union (DExEU), was created in July 2016, with David Davis appointed its first Secretary of State. Negotiations with the EU officially started in June 2017.

The UK is still a member of the European Union, and UK citizens still have the same rights as we currently have as EU citizens, until the official leave date. You can find out more about your EU citizen rights here.

You can find out more about Brexit from our web posts and the links below:

Brexit: All you need to know about the UK leaving the EU – BBC

Brexit: How will it work? – UK Parliament

Facts on Brexit – FullFacts

Brexit negotiations: deciding new EU-UK relations – EU Parliament

GOV.UK Brexit Updates

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website.